Skip to main content

Yan Lianke

Yan Lianke is the author of the memoir Three Brothers and numerous novels and novellas, including Hard Like WaterThe Day the Sun DiedThe Explosion ChroniclesThe Four BooksLenin’s KissesServe the People!Dream of Ding Village, and The Years, Months, Days.

Among many accolades, he was awarded the Newman Prize for Chinese Literature and the Franz Kafka Prize, and was elected as a Royal Society of Literature International Writer. He was twice a finalist for the Man Booker International Prize, and he has been shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, the Man Asian Literary Prize, and the Prix Femina étranger. He has also received two of China’s most prestigious literary honours, the Lu Xun Prize and the Lao She Award.

Articles by Yan Lianke

Subscribe to Wasafiri and get benefits such as saving 18% off the cover price.
Sign up
Sign-up to our newsletter and receive all our latest news straight to your inbox.
Follow us on our social media channels to stay in the loop and join in with discussions.
Subscribe Basket